The Only True God

It seems that every single denomination believes there is only one true God. They believe this, hopefully, because this is what the Bible teaches. However; various churches and people read a lot into what the scripture actually says about the only true God and make that one God something entirely different than what the scripture actually says. I recently read that an honest but mistaken man; when show the truth, ceases to be mistaken; or he ceases to be honest. My quest to find the one and only true God has taken me along a path that has sometimes been crooked and hard; but when I return over and over to just what the scripture says without adding to or deleting or changing the words to fit what I believe; I do find that the scripture truly does teach that there is only one true God.

Most people who profess to be Christians believe that the one true God is made up of three individual persons who together form the one and only true God. This doctrine of the trinity has only a sketchy relationship to scripture and those few scriptures would have to stand completely alone and leave out or change much of what is recorded in our Bible to be true without making any changes. There are others who claim to be Christian and who claim there is only one God and His name is Jesus. They say that Jesus is the Father and Jesus is the Son, and Jesus is the Holy Spirit. These folks also have scripture but they also have to leave others out and change the meaning of most scripture to make their doctrine work. My quest has always been to find the truth by simply reading the words of the scripture and not changing anything. I just want to take them at face value and learn what they mean. I know there are missed translations and I know that several verses can be pulled out of the scripture to prove both of these doctrines; but when one takes the entire Bible and refuses to change anything and only use the words that are recorded they can only come up with the fact that there is only one true God.

As I stated at the beginning; everyone believes this in their own way; but let’s take a look at a few scriptures that are quite telling. John 17:3 teaches; “And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.” John 8:42 are words of Jesus as he says; “If God were your Father, ye would love me: for I proceeded forth and came from God; neither came I of myself, but he sent me.” The words of Paul concerning this matter are found in a couple of places. One is 1 Corinthians 8:6; “But to us there is but one God, the Father, of whom are all things, and we in him; and one Lord Jesus Christ, by whom are all things, and we by him.” And again in Ephesians 3:14; For this cause I bow my knees unto the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.” There are many more verses which say the same thing; but these tell the story. Jesus is not the Father which is clear from John 8:42 where he says he did not send himself. Jesus also says that he proceeded from the Father. The Holy Spirit also proceeds from the Father; so one should conclude the The Father is God. He was unbegotten and was before time. Jesus proceeded from God. The Holy Spirit proceeded from God.

As Paul said in 1 Corinthians; “But to us there is but one God, the Father.”

6 Responses to “The Only True God”

  1. AMG Says:

    Jesus says he is the Son of God, because he came forth from God. To give a human argument, when a human comes forth from you, it is called your son or daughter. Even if you had given birth to a clone made of yourself, would you tell everyone that this is you, or would you say this is your son/daughter? God made himself human, Jesus. Jesus emptied himself to come to earth as a man.
    I hope that helps.

    John 1:1 1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the WORD WAS GOD.

    John 1:14 THE WORD BECAME FLESH and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.

    Philippians 2:7 but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness.

  2. landsway Says:

    Jesus did come forth from God as mentioned in John 8:42. We could go back and forth with various scriptures for days I would imagine; but I have to look to what Jesus said about himself. He constantly said he did nothing of his own. He said the Father was greater then he was. He called the Father the only true God and Jesus never says he is God. The trinity is called a mystery because it cannot be explained in a rational way. The scripture says that Jesus was tempted in all points like we are and the book of James teaches in the 1st chapter that God cannot be tempted. I am not wanting to argue with anyone; I just want people to think. I have to often wonder why we don’t just read the Bible and take the words for what they say. It seems most everyone wants to add to a simple message and make it a lot more confusing. To me there is one God who is the Father. He has a Son that proceeded forth from Him. He is a Spirit and that Spirit is Holy. It really is that simple to me. Jesus is the mediator between God and man and it is through his death that we are reconciled to God and it is through his life that we are saved.

    I appreciate your comment.

  3. AMG Says:

    You said: We could go back and forth with various scriptures for days I would imagine; but I have to look to what Jesus said about himself. He constantly said he did nothing of his own. He said the Father was greater then he was.

    My reply: Jesus said he did nothing of his own, and that the Father was greater than he was. Jesus says that about his self and the Father, how does it NOT make him God in the flesh? Of course the Father is greater…Jesus is God as a man. Of course Jesus did nothing of his own…Jesus came as a man.

    You said: He called the Father the only true God and Jesus never says he is God. The trinity is called a mystery because it cannot be explained in a rational way.

    My reply: I do not use the word trinity, because it is not in the Bible. That God came to earth, as a man, that is not difficult to understand.

    You said: The scripture says that Jesus was tempted in all points like we are and the book of James teaches in the 1st chapter that God cannot be tempted.

    My reply: God came as a MAN. Of course, he was tempted, so he could sympathize with our weaknesses. (See Hebrews 4:15.)

    You said: I am not wanting to argue with anyone; I just want people to think. I have to often wonder why we don’t just read the Bible and take the words for what they say.

    My reply: There is nothing wrong with arguing. There are many scriptures that tells us that. You say you just want people to think, and that you have wondered why we do not just read the Bible and take the words for what they say, well, that is what I have done for you today.

    You said: It seems most everyone wants to add to a simple message and make it a lot more confusing. To me there is one God who is the Father. He has a Son that proceeded forth from Him. He is a Spirit and that Spirit is Holy. It really is that simple to me. Jesus is the mediator between God and man and it is through his death that we are reconciled to God and it is through his life that we are saved.

    My reply: With your explanation, you leave out other scriptures about Jesus. You leave out the Word was God. You leave out the Word became flesh.

    You said: I appreciate your comment.

    My reply: Thank you. God bless.

  4. methodus Says:

    Greetings Landsway,

    It has been a while. I will make this quite quick because I do not wish to waste your time: your use of 1 Corinthians 8:6 in particular is quite faulty. Almost a year ago I wrote you a reply to which you have never responded to concerning this matter even though you did read it. With all due respect, I cannot in good conscience keep silent when you continue to repeat points which, by my understanding, have been refuted and you yourself have done nothing to show how these are not undermined by my argument. In any case, here is the article again:

    http://godomnipotent.wordpress.com/2011/01/01/on-christian-unitarianism-and-1-corinthians-86/

    God bless.

    • landsway Says:

      Was out of the country for a while. It would seem evident that we just simply disagree on the meaning of several scriptures. I think you have shown me to be at fault and I think you show your fault with your explanations. I try not to be on line to beat people up and hound them; but I do try to point out what I believe and listen and read what others believe. You are quite entitled to your beliefs as am I. We both will be held accountable for what we do and teach and I am quite comfortable with that. Have a nice day.

      • methodus Says:

        Well clearly we’re at the end of this discussion and it would seem that if I furthered the matter I’d be seen as needlessly belligerent. So I really have nothing further to say save to reiterate the fact that while you are indeed entitled to your opinions, you have done nothing to show them to be true and as such to claim that my argument is faulty (once again without actually having interacted with my post) is to make an unfounded assertion.

Leave a Reply

