The Son Of God Part 3

Many, if not most people in the church today do believe that Jesus is God. John 10 is one of the places in the scripture that is used to prove the Jesus said he is God. The Pharisees believed he claimed to be God in this passage; but I want us to look at what it is that Jesus said beginning with the 25th verse. The Pharisees had just told him to not make them doubt anymore. If he was the Christ they wanted him to tell them plainly. Verses 25-30 are his answer to them. “Jesus answered them, I told you, and ye believed not: the works that I do in my Father’s name, they bear witness of me. But ye believe not, because ye are not of my sheep, as I said unto you. My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: and I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand. I and my Father are one.” Right after this statement, the Jews took up stones to stone him and he asked what we read yesterday about for which good work do they stone him. They answered that they were going to stone him for blasphemy and because he said he was God. The only part of that statement that can even be misconstrued to say he claimed to be God is the last verse that says “I and my Father are one.” I have read this passage for years and even when I was a true believer in the Holy Trinity I could not make this a verse where Jesus claimed to be God. All throughout this passage he talked about the Father. He said plainly that he did his works in the Father’s name. He said the sheep were given to him by the Father. Then he did say that he and his Father were one. It my opinion, to believe that means that he is God is a real reach. One would have to be looking for something to prove he said he was God, and combine that with an unwillingness to look at other scripture, to think that is what he said. The history of the Jews and especially the Pharisees to this point would prove they were trying to find any reason they could to condemn and to kill Jesus.

Believers in the Trinity say that what Jesus meant by being one with the Father was that they were one in unity. They claim that the Father and the Son and the Holy Ghost are all God even though they are separate beings. They understand that scripture says there is only one God; and they claim that since all three are in 100% unity of Spirit at all times that they are only one God. They say there is only one will and always total agreement and unity. The Jesus name advocates take the statement as a literal statement proving that Jesus is, in fact, also the Father. They believe that Jesus is the actual name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. This is why they do not baptize in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost as was commanded by Jesus himself. They say that since Jesus is the name of all modes of God; and since Peter and the apostles baptized in Jesus name (we will look into that statement later on) then that is how to baptize. As one can see then, this verse is used to prove that Jesus said he was God; but I cannot see that. I think one has to be trying to make that assertion, as Jesus did not. We will examine more of this statement that Jesus and the Father are one tomorrow.

Continue to read your Bible and pray and seek Him.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “The Son Of God Part 3”

  1. methodus Says:

    I disagree with your position that Jesus isn’t himself God. I know that this is a bit presumptious on my part but could you read this article and the comment section to know as to why I disagree with you?:

    http://godomnipotent.wordpress.com/2010/10/31/re-is-jesus-god/

    • landsway Says:

      Everyone has a right to an opinion. Most would disagree with my position but I think my position is different than the one with whom you were disputing in your blog. I am coming at this from a Christian prospective using scripture to back up my view. I don’t have to change any scripture or read anything into it to show that Jesus is the Son of God. That is what he claimed to be and is who the scripture says he is. We are told that God is the head of Christ and we read that Jesus said he did those things which please the Father. He also said that the Father was greater than was he. I am not trying to be argumentative at all; just expressing what I believe the scripture says. Believers in the Trinity and believers in the Jesus name only doctrine seem to be very argumentative in trying to put everyone down who does not agree. John 3:17 teaches that Jesus was not sent to condemn the world but that the world through him might be saved. I do not believe that we should condemn others but should try to teach and lift up through love. If one is in error we seldom will win them over to the truth by telling them how wrong and unenlightened they are.

      • methodus Says:

        I realized that you were coming from a Christian perspective but I felt that the very same points that applied to the individual whom I had initially replied to would also apply to you. You will note that I did not argue by way of doctrine but rather by providing citations from the bible. While the trinitarian can reconcile subjugation within the trinity (Christ submitting to the will of the father), non-trinitarians cannot reconcile passages where Jesus demands to be honoured in the exact same manner as the Father (John 5:23), nor the verses in the Old Testament wherein Yahweh repeatedly claims to be one yet sends another Yahweh to dwell with his people (Zech. 2:10-11), or when Yahweh claims that one day Israel will mourn for they will realize that they pierced him and mourn for him as one mourns for the loss of an only child (Zech. 12:10). As far as subjugation goes, the man is the head of the woman and yet this in no way means that the woman isn’t ontologically equal to the man. If this is true with us, then why not within God? Once more, subjugation does not prove inequality.

  2. landsway Says:

    I would say that the Bible teaches he is the Son of God. Many seem to have a real problem with that though.

Leave a Reply

